Famous Filipino People
Home  |  All Famous Filipinos  |  Celebrities  |  Newsflashes

6 Magsaysay Awardees Receive Credits
Written by Loren   
Tuesday, 08 September 2009

In ceremonies at the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) in Pasay City, 2009 Ramon Magsaysay awardees are to get recognition and receive the title Asia’s Heroes: Science in the Service of Humanity.

Along with the awardees is Filipino Antonio Oposa Jr. He will be joined by five others: Krisana Kraisintu of Thailand, Deep Joshi of India, Yu Xiaogang of China, Ma Jun also of China and Ka Hsaw Wa of Myanmar.

As part of the ceremonies for the Ramon Magsaysay Awards, which is said to be Asia’s answer to the Nobel Prize, this year’s batch of winners are expected to lay a wreath at the tomb of the late President Ramon Magsaysay at the North Cemetery in Manila.

As is also tradition, the winners will conduct a series of lectures in Metro Manila from August 27 to September 2 to discuss the work and advocacies that earned them their awards.

The Ramon Magsaysay Awards Foundation was organized in Manila in May 1957 with the mission of honoring greatness of spirit in selfless service to the peoples of Asia.

The Ramon Magsaysay Awards was created in 1957, the year President Ramon Magsaysay was killed in a plane crash. After his death, the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund established the awards to honor his memory and perpetuate his example of integrity in public service and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society. [via]


Latest News
Most Read

2006 - 2013 Famous Filipino dot com. Some rights reserved